The Cornhusker Marching Band Highlights Concert

It’s showtime as the Cornhusker Marching Band Highlight Concert returns Tuesday, December 17, 7:30 PM, Cornhusker Marching Band at Lied Center ($20 adults; $10 students & seniors at the Lied Center Box Office, 402.472.4747. Come experience the sights and sounds of the pride of all Nebraska!


2013 Band Banquet and Band Awards

The Band Banquet, held on Saturday, January 12, 2013 in the Nebraska Union, was a great success. The event included a sit-down dinner, two keynote speakers and informal and formal awards presentations.

The speakers were Greg Sharpe, the radio “Voice of the Huskers” for football and baseball; and Dr. Jamie Williams, former Husker and NFL tight end, and current Associate Athletic Director for Diversity and Leadership. They both delivered inspiring, humorous and appreciative messages.

This year’s Outstanding Bandsmen Award recipient was Cornhusker Marching Band Trumpet Section Leader Martha Hensel. Martha is a senior Pre-Inclusive Early Childhood Education major from Columbia, MO where she attended Hickman High School. She has been active in concert ensembles as well as the CMB.

The Band program at UNL would like to thank the Band Alumni Association for their generous support of the Banquet, and the Epsilon Omega Chapter of Kappa Kappa Psi National Honorary Band Fraternity for their hard work.

Band Banquet 2013

2012-2013 UNL Band Award Winners

Outstanding Bandsman: Martha Hensel

Band Key: 

  • Keygan Boesiger
  • Allison Brady 
  • Eric Chrostoski 
  • Martha Hensel 
  • Derek Hupp 
  • Brett Hessel 
  • Andrew Kroeger 
  • Hannah Lambert 
  • Michael Taylor 

Musicianship Award:

  • Kevin Cooley
  • Ben Hutchinson
  • Martin Ross
  • Kevin von Kampen
  • Jess Watson
  • Katy Weak

Marching Red Award:

  • Amber Detter
  • Hannah Heiser
  • Dan Holtmeyer
  • Annie Kamprath
  • Jenna Krueger
  • Michael Lindsay
  • Kathryn Moore
  • Baileigh Rodgers
  • Matt Spencer
  • Rachel Watermeier

Service Award:

  • Nick Doty
  • Jennifer Eagin
  • Brett Hessel
  • Andrew Kroeger
  • Matt Olson
  • Matt Spencer
  • Brandi Zwiener